Posted by: sammw2ms | October 29, 2009

metacognition

I don’t know if this is going to be a subcategory, or the main focus, but I think I can incorporate most of my ideas under this broad topic. I want to get kids thinking critically about everything that they read, and Harry Potter might be a great vessel for this. I can still incorporate literary themes, while also asking questions that are challenging. I have already started doing this in the first few pages. Though those questions will be answered somewhat in the paper, when posed in a classroom, hopefully it will lead to deeper discussion.

My other challenge now, is how do I cite or research the things that I already know from thinking critically about it myself? I once met a friend at a restaurant and we hadn’t seen each other in a long time… we ended up spending 9 hours sitting there at the bar and about 2-3 of those hours were a deep discussion on Harry Potter… this was when only 4 or 5 of the books had even been published. I am not sure now how to go about using ideas that have come up from other sources that have long been forgotten.

Leave a Reply

Categories

