Posted by: sammw2ms | November 15, 2009

15 down, 10 to go

Writing a paper of this size surprisingly hasn’t been too much of a challenge yet, but I think that is because I am currently at my desk, literally surrounded by books about Harry Potter, the boy who lived. Everything that I am reading is so fascinating that I want to include it all! Today I did the third installment of five more pages and I feel that it’s a little more connected now. I changed the headings so they were more specific, instead of broad like they were before. I added things all over, instead of just writing a brand new 5 pages and tacking them on somewhere. Most importantly though, I learned more about one of my favorite books, which is part of the reason that I chose this topic. I was frustrated last week when I started with the heading of “Theme” and then wrote five pages on Courage, which is just one of the themes. But, as I started detailing the character traits found in each of the four Houses, I realized why I could write 5 pages on courage, it’s the focal point of the Gryffindor house. And while I knew this before, it was interesting really analyzing why Harry, Ron, Hermione, and even Neville were in Gryffindor. So, I changed that subheading from “theme” to a title that was courage driven.

I think the last ten pages are fairly planned out in my head. I haven’t even covered any of the myths and legends that lend themselves to Harry Potter. That will be an easy 5-6 pages. I still need an introduction, which I am fairly certain will cover a page and then I want some lesson plans. One of these lesson plans has already been written and I turned in in as an assignment for another class. Might as well kill two birds with one stone, right? I will include this in my paper after I receive feed back from that professor. I am also trying to find a bit on the fandom and why it is so popular to make an argument that this book can be used to inspire kids to read. And I think I also need to catch up on the blog a bit… I might be one behind.

I also need to go over it all and look at it technically. I am hoping to get some prof feedback on that sometime soon… I want to make sure I don’t have too many quotes, or not enough, and that things are cohesive, and my writing isn’t crappy, etc. That’s what I am worried about a bit right now.

Other than that, I think the paper is in really good shape! 😀

Leave a Reply

Categories

